Day two of the 2017 Surf Dive n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles saw a slight increase in swell as interstate competitors dominated the lions share of Under-18 boys and girls round one heats.

Ben Gradisen (Gracetown, WA) and Maddy Job (Miami, Qld) both played an integral part in one of the biggest upsets of the event thus far, taking first and second over perennial standout Jay Brown (Cronulla, NSW). Gradisen and Job both opted to surf the punchy right-handers over the course of their heat to post a handful of decent scores and notch up heat totals in excess of 12.75 (out of a possible 20 points). As a result, Gradisen and Job have cemented their position in the quarterfinals, while Brown will have to surf through the requalification rounds.

Cyrus Cox (Margaret River, WA) and Noah Stocca (Peregian Beach, Qld) both stood out over the duration of their opening Under-18 Boys exchanges with both surfers posting respective 13.65 and 13.45 heat totals to lock in a position in the quarterfinals.

Other Under-18 Boys round one heat winners included: Kai Tandler (Coolangatta, Qld), Micah Margieson (Cabarita, NSW) and Kurtis Vaughan (Bateau Bay, NSW).

Amber Dodds (Sunrise Beach, Qld) proceeded to post one of the highest heat totals of the event so far in her Under-18 Girls round one heat. The lightning-fast Sunshine Coast surfer locked in a solid 15.00 two-wave heat total to leave her closest rival Pemba Spargo (Albany, WA) chasing an excellent 8.80 wave score.

Other Under-18 Girls round one winners included: Sophie Fletcher (Cape Woolamai, Vic), Sophia Chapman (Narrabeen, NSW), India Robinson (Jan Juc, Vic) and Kiara Meredith (Barrack Point, NSW).

Prime location for event is Culburra Beach and Crookhaven Heads with back up locations of Seven Mile, Shoalhaven Heads, Tilbury Cove, Culburra Beach, Cudmirrah Beach, Sussex Inlet, Narrawallee Beach, North Mollymook Beach, South Mollymook Beach, Rennies Beach, Ulladulla and Racecourse.

All teams, families and coaches are advised to ring the event hotline (0458 247 212) by 6.45am on the days of competition to confirm location and running order.

With past winners including World Champions Steph Gilmore, Chelsea Hedges, Mick Fanning, Joel Parkinson, Mark Richards, Tom Carroll and Damian Hardman, a win in this year’s event is a legitimate stepping stone to world stage glory.

To follow the event visit

The 2017 Surf Dive n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event will also be supported by City of Shoalhaven, Hydralyte Sports, Woolworths, Toyota,, School Sport Australia, Surfing NSW, Surfing Australia and the Australian Institute of Sport.