WAITPINGA/SOUTH AUSTRALIA(December 6th/2018): It was all about the Under 14’s and 16’s divisions today at Waitpinga Beach with South Australia again providing excellent conditions with 1-2ft mechanical left-handers peeling through the line-up for the majority of the day.

The Under 16’s Boys and Girls finals were high-quality affairs with all eight finalists showing why they are Australia’s best. Joel Vaughan put on a clinical display in the boys final whilst Cedar Leigh-Jones won a tight battle, overcoming Ellia Smith by .05 of a point in a classic back and forth tussle.

New Under 14 Boys and Girls Surf Dive ‘n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Champions were crowned with Hugh Vaughan (NSW) and Ellie Harrison (VIC) taking home bragging rights.

The Under 14 Girls final was the highlight of the day with Harrison and Zali Hewson (WA) going wave for wave with rides in the excellent range and both competitors ending the heat with 18 point heat totals.

Under 16 Allstars Girls and Under 19 Allstars Boys champions were also crowned on day six with NSW taking bragging rights in the 16 Girls and

Under 16 Boys Final

1 Joel Vaughan NSW 15.90

2 Mike Clayton-Brown NSW 14.75

3 Zeb Stokes QLD  12.15

4 Jai Glindeman NSW 11.35

Under 16 Girls Final

1 Cedar Leigh-Jones NSW 15.25

2 Ellia Smith QLD 15.10

3 Sage Goldsbury VIC 14.25

4 Charli Hurst NSW 11.95

Under 14 Boys Final

1  Hugh Vaughan NSW 14.75

2  Dembe Ryan NSW 11.80

3 Dane Henry NSW 11.55

4 Otis North WA 10.00

Under 14 Girls Final

1 Ellie Harrison VIC 18.15

2 Zali Hewson WA 18.10

3 Oceanna Rogers NSW 11.90

4 Rosie Smart NSW 11.40

The event is set to wrap up tomorrow with the remainder of the age divisions finals to be decided along with all School Sport Divisions.

For full results, images and video highlights go to www.australianjuniorsurfingtitles.com

With a joint National Titles encompassing Individual (Under 14, 16 and 18 age groups) and Australian School Surfing Association (Allstars and MR Shield) disciplines in both boys and girl’s divisions, the event is considered the benchmark of junior surfing in the country.

With past winners including World Champions Steph Gilmore, Chelsea Hedges, Mick Fanning, Joel Parkinson, Mark Richards, Tom Carroll and Damian Hardman, a win in this year’s event is a legitimate stepping stone to world stage glory.

The 2018 Surf Dive ‘n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles are proudly supported by City of Victor Harbor, Woolworths, 2XP Sunscreen, Hydralyte Sports, Air Asia, Hyundai, Hurley, School Sport Australia, Sport Australia, Surfing South Australia, School Sport South Australia, Surfing Australia and mySURFtv.

The Surf Dive n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles features the Australian Junior Titles and the Australian School Surfing Titles.