The 2017 Surf Dive n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles saw its first round of champions crowned today with the Schools divisions of the event winding up in windy three-to-four foot waves.

Western Australia ensured they left their mark on the Surf Dive n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles, taking out the Under-16 Boys and Girls MR Shield and Under-19 Boys MR Shield. The strong team put on a stellar performance over the course of the day with the team taking three out respective titles. The teams most dominant performance came in the 16 Boys, thanks to some powerful surfing from Margaret River Senior High School’s Seth Van Haeften (Margaret River) and Jed Gradisen (Gracetown) who notched up an impressive 16.33 two-wave heat total to get the edge over the NSW team of Finn Hill (Kincumber High) and Olly Bolton (Kincumber High) who finished in second position.

Hot on Western Australia’s heels was the host state of NSW who managed to claim wins 19 Boys and Girls All-Stars division as well as the Under-16 Girls All-Stars division. Jay Brown (Cronulla) and Darcy Crump (Avalon) were able to get the highest scores across the Schools divisions, posting a giant 16.34 heat total to get the win ahead of Victoria’s Tully Wylie (Jan Juc) and Taj Sleeman (Wonthaggi) who finished in second.

Other victories came at the hands of Victoria’s Xavier Huxtable (Jan Juc) and Indi White (Jan Juc) who managed to take out the Under-16 Boys All-Stars for St.Josephs College with a heat total of 14.84. Meanwhile, the three lady team of Sophie Fletcher, Lannia Fostin and Daisy Corbett propelled Newhaven College to a victory in the Under-19 Girls MR Shield.

All results and heat totals can be found at

The 2017 Surf Dive n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles will wrap up tomorrow.

Prime location for the event is Culburra Beach and Crookhaven Heads with back up locations of Seven Mile, Shoalhaven Heads, Tilbury Cove, Culburra Beach, Cudmirrah Beach, Sussex Inlet, Narrawallee Beach, North Mollymook Beach, South Mollymook Beach, Rennies Beach, Ulladulla and Racecourse.

All teams, families and coaches are advised to ring the event hotline (0458 247 212) by 6.45am on the days of competition to confirm location and running order.

With past winners including World Champions Steph Gilmore, Chelsea Hedges, Mick Fanning, Joel Parkinson, Mark Richards, Tom Carroll and Damian Hardman, a win in this year’s event is a legitimate stepping stone to world stage glory.

The 2017 Surf Dive n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event will also be supported by City of Shoalhaven, Hydralyte Sports, Woolworths, Toyota,, School Sport Australia, Surfing NSW, Surfing Australia and the Australian Institute of Sport.